The LMWUA was originally formed in July 2008, as a collaborative Mandatory Alliance of six Councils in the Lower Macquarie River Valley (the Macquarie River downstream of Burrendong Dam).

The Councils [Dubbo City, Bogan, Cobar, Narromine, Warren, and Wellington Shires] agreed, at a Workshop held in Nyngan in February 2008, to form such an Alliance (in response to the Water Inquiry being conducted in NSW); as a means of cooperatively developing resource sharing opportunities, implementing best practice water management for their communities and ensuring that the shortcomings identified by the NSW Water Inquiry were proactively investigated and, if necessary, addressed

Subsequently, in May 2009, Bourke Shire Council and Brewarrina Shire Council were admitted as member Councils.

In late 2013, the Board of the LMWUA resolved to invite the adjoining Councils to join the Alliance.  The Board considered that the advantages gained by each of Council Water Utilities by being part of the Alliance since 2009, could be shared and the Alliance made larger.  As the existing Alliance members where part of the Orana Regional Group of Councils (OROC), synergies and economies of scale would exist if the Alliance footprint was therefore enlarged to match the OROC footprint.  As a result of this resolution Gilgandra, Connamble, Walgett and Warrumbungle Shire Councils have accepted the invitation and are now members of the Alliance.

The LMWUA will begin the process therefore of aligning all 12 Councils in terms of their Best Practice requirements, and further advance the strategic planning work being undertaken by the Alliance of behalf of the 12 Councils which are now members.  

The Alliance’s Vision and Objectives are:


 The member councils of the Lower Macquarie Water Utilities Alliance commit to provide a unified approach to the sustainable delivery of water supply and sewerage services, and to achieve and maintain gazetted Best Practice by the earliest feasible date.


 The initial objectives of the Lower Macquarie Water Utilities Alliance (LMWUA) are:

(a)   Resource and staff skill sharing;

(b)   Water resource sharing opportunities;

(c)   Peer review of performance and mentoring where appropriate;

(d)   Development of shared best practice strategies;

(e)   Funding of best practice strategies and goals.

 The Alliance operates under Section 355 (d) of the NSW Local Government Act (1999) and is headed by a Board, comprising the Mayors and General Managers of each member Council.



The LMWUA acknowledges the generous funding provided by the Australian Federal Government under the Strengthening Basin Communities Funding for the completion of the Integrated Water Cycle Management, Demand Management , Drought Management , Stormwater harvesting and Water Quality Management and for the setting up of this website.